Skip to content

A Note of Thanks from Lucy

June 28, 2012
We received the following letter from Lucy, the Bridge mom featured in our Spring appeal.  We just had to share it with you, so you can see just how important your support is in changing the lives of homeless families in our care.  ~Mark Milligan, Co-Founder
 
LucyJune 2, 2010 is the day my life changed forever.  It’s the day my family and I were handed the keys to our Bridge Communities apartment.  God had answered my prayers.  There are no words to describe what this has meant to us.  Until that point, we were homeless, bouncing from place to place with nowhere to turn for help.  My mother passed away when I was 18, and my father wasn’t present in my life, so I took refuge in the abusive relationship I had with my kids’ father.  The abuse worsened as time passed.  When my children started witnessing it, I decided that they did not deserve that kind of life; I was determined to let my faith show me the way out, so I started praying.
 
Lucy's sonI called a lot of government-funded programs, all of which had two-year waiting lists.  I couldn’t imagine living the way we were for another two years.  At my lowest point, I was browsing the internet when the story of a homeless family appeared on a Yahoo newsfeed.  I couldn’t believe there was a program out there that helped this family the way it did.  At that point, I was willing to try any program I could, so I Googled Bridge Communities and, to my surprise, got a meeting with Karen three days later.
I am very grateful that Karen, my mentors (Irene, Donna, & Matt), and everyone else believed in me and welcomed me into Bridge’s Transitional Housing Program.
 
Lucy's sonI was determined to better my life and become financially stable for my kids’ sake, and I was willing to do anything to get there.  With my mentors’ help, I became debt free in six months!  Most importantly, we had a stable roof over our heads; I didn’t have to worry about where we’d spend the night or how long we had before we had to leave. With Pam’s help, I enrolled in school and got a better job in the first few months of the Program. 
 
Lucy's sonAlmost two years have passed since I made that first call, and I can’t put into words what the Bridge Program has done for me.  I don’t even want to think about where we’d be without Bridge.  I will forever be grateful and treasure all the support and help my family and I got from this wonderful Program, and I want to thank all those that continue to support such an amazing organization.
 
Lucy's sonI will continue to keep moving forward to reach my goals.  I hope to one day be able to give back to families in need and make a difference in their lives, just like I was given.
 
Thank you so much,
Lucy, Christian, Andrew, Anthony and Alex
No comments yet

Please share your thoughts

